Official tourism website for Cork, Ireland

Cork Racecourse is located in the heart of Munster and steeped in the traditions of racing in Ireland. The first Steeplechase ever was run locally between Buttevant and Doneraile over 250 years ago.

Chasing from steeple to steeple or point-to-point began in 1752 when Mr. Blake challenged his neighbour Mr. O'Callaghan, to race across country from Buttevant church to Doneraile church some four and a half miles distance and so jump stone walls, ditches and hedges as these presented themselves. By keeping the steeple of the church in sight (steeple chasing) both riders could see their finishing point. A racecourse was established in 1924 in Mallow, partly to compensate for the closure of Cork Park Racecourse.

A massive upgrade saw the present facilities come into being after 1996. Both Jump and Flat racing is now on offer at Cork Racecourse Mallow. The most prestigious races currently are our two Murphys Hurdles sponsored by the local Heineken Brewery, The Cork Grand National, The Hillyway Chase and The Cork Stayers Novice Hurdle.

At early summer fixtures The Kerry Group Ballyogan Stakes, The Blue Wind Stakes and The Platinum Stakes present the best of Flat racing. Famous winners at Cork include, Aintree Grand National Winner Monty’s Pass, Melbourne Cup Winner Media Puzzle as well as National Hunt favourites Timbera, Be My Royal and Kicking King.

Read more
Never miss an event or new attraction in Cork.