Open May to September the Heritage Centre is housed in the former Christchurch on North Main Street Bandon, this unique and charming exhibition transports visitors through time to experience Bandon town as it was in time’s past.
Christchurch dates back to circa 1610 and is built on the site of a Danish Fort. It was one of the earliest Protestant churches in Ireland and was a church for 363 years. It was deconsecrated in 1973. Some Bandon church records are held at the West Cork Heritage Centre.
A portion of the old Bandon walls are part of the structure of the building. The church now hosts a series of exhibitions with the theme of Bandon’s history. Visitors can see replicas of an old shop, school, kitchen and forge. The current exhibition also includes the old town stocks and memorabilia from Bandon’s time as a garrison town.
Mon - Sat 10am - 5pm
Sundays 2 - 5 pm
May 1 to September 30
Rest of year by appointment
School tours are welcome. Please contact us to arrange group visits in advance.